Social Media Monitoring: Chapter 18

Standard

Image

Listening to your audience has become an apparent and important part of any company. It is essential to understand your audience in order to meet their needs and desires. However, how do you understand your audience when there are so many outlets in which they communicate across? With the rise of social media such as Twitter and Facebook it can be difficult to track exactly how consumers are feeling. Thus, social media monitoring has become a fast growing trend specifically, sentiment analysis.

As Smith (2012) explains, sentiment analysis is an excellent way to, “attempt to deduce how somebody feels about a particular person, topic, issue or organization based on what they say” (p. 159).  I believe that major advantage of a company using sentiment analysis is to determine how their brand or products are being viewed. This can help them to make positive changes and take into account what their consumers want. It amazes me how social media software is able to find references to a product or company along with be able to understand how people feel about that company or product.

The process of this social media software called sentiment analysis can be quit complex using algorithms to understand which words are considered positive and negative. One major company that uses sentiment analysis to understand consumers needs is Starbucks.

 Image

Starbucks is mentioned in nearly ten tweets every second! Crazy right? Even with that amazing number of tweets Starbucks is able to locate and find every customer complaint in which they make it a point to respond. Sentiment analysis can be used as an effective way to stay a step ahead of competitors. As seen with Starbucks it can provide a way for companies to improve their products based off consumers need and wants. Remember listening to your audience is the key to success. 

 

Information obtained from:

http://www.businessinsider.com/twitter-facebook-monitoring-2012-11

Smith, A. “Social Media Monitoring.” Share This: The Social Media Handbook for PR Professionals. Chichester: John Wiley & Sons, 2012. p.159 . Print.

 

7 responses »

  1. Sentiment Analysis is so cool to me. I think that being able to analyze each product is such a great advantage to every company. However, I think that it’s got to be so hard to do for companies in the food industry like Starbucks! I feel like every tweet I see about Starbucks is either a deep profession of love for a pumpkin spice latte or someone posting how their favorite drink got messed up by the rude barista that took their order. If it helps your company, then I think it’s awesome and use it!

    • Meg, I agree. Every single tweet I see about Starbucks is literally a profound love for pumpkin spice latte, haha! I wonder how many companies really use Sentiment Analysis, and I wonder what the general consensus is from the companies about if they think it’s useful. I personally don’t see how it couldn’t be useful, as it provides a clear outline of how your brand is doing, showing bad and good comments in an organized form.

    • I agree that it can be dificult for a company to take into consideration every consumers response to their product. Especially because everyone has a different opinion while some may love the taste of Starbucks pumkin spice latte other may hate it! I am interested to see how much a company takes into consideration the results of Sentiment Analysis

  2. I wonder of Starbucks addresses EVERY bad comment they receive. I also wonder if they address more of the negative comments than the positive comments, and wonder just how beneficial that is for their company. I think that always addressing bad wouldn’t be too good for their product, as giving attention to those who support your company is what is important. 10 tweets every second is INSANE!! That just shows how far Starbucks has reached….nearly everywhere with that many tweets coming up! Sentiment analysis is something that I never knew existed until reading this chapter, and I think it’s really interesting that more companies don’t use this tactic, as it seems to work. What’s the point of having a social media presence if you can’t successfully and easily track what people are saying about your brand?

    • Gabie great point! I agree that it might not be a great idea to spend all of their time commenting on the negative. Addressing the positive comments and thanking those that support the company is a great way to show the customers they care.

      Jourdan, interesting post on sentiment analysis. I think it is a technique that all organizations that have social media accounts should use! Keeping up to date with what people are saying about your organization can prevent a crisis from happening and give you an edge against competitors.

    • I am wondering the same thing! While I read an article that claims that Starbucks addresses every bad comment I find that hard to believe! It would be interesting to see how many bad comments they address compared to the positive ones. I think it is equally as important to address the good ones as it is to address the bad. I had never heard of Sentiment analysis myself and the concept is extremely interesting and slightly similar to content analysis.

      • Yes! I was the thinking the exact same thing. Content analysis is very similar to sentiment analysis. I think it’s a good idea to incorporate this system into big companies using twitter. I wonder if Starbucks would respond to a negative tweet if you or I tweeted at them! That would be interesting to see!

Leave a Reply

